President Jonathan Swears-In Eight New Ministers

president-jonathanPresident Goodluck Jonathan has sworn in the eight  Ministers recently confirmed by the Senate before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting.

The President assigned portfolios to them as follows: Senator Patricia Akwashiki (Minister of Information), Prof. Nicholas Ada (Minister of State, Foreign Affairs I), Senator Musiliu Obanikoro (Minister of State, Foreign Affairs II), Col. Augustine Akobundu, (Rtd.) (Minister of State for Defence), Mr. Fidelis Nwankwo (Minister of State for Health), Mrs. Hauwa Bappa (Minister of State, Niger Delta Affairs), Mr. Kenneth Kobani (Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment), and Senator Joel Ikeya (Minister of Labour and Productivity).

President Jonathan also named the Minister of State, Health, Khaliru Alhassan, as the Minister of Health.

Mr Alhassan has been acting as Supervising Minister of Health since Prof. Onyebuchi Ckukwu resigned in 2014.

In his address, after the swearing in ceremony, the President told the new Ministers to brace up for the challenges that comes with being sworn in at an injury time such as now.