Child Trafficking: Kano Govt Promises To Commence Investigation, Ensure Justice For Victims


The Kano State Government has promised to investigate the case of nine children who were kidnapped and trafficked from Kano to Anambra State.

The governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, gave the assurance in a statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary, Abba Anwar, on Tuesday.

He also gave an assurance that the arrested suspects would be prosecuted and punished accordingly if found guilty.

“Kidnapping is seriously abhorred and condemnable. What is more worrisome is the age of the victims, kids for that matter. My administration, Kano people and any right-thinking individual or groups of individuals, condemn this from all standpoints,” he said, adding that “no criminal will go scot-free”.

Read Also: Police Rescue Nine Kidnapped Children In Anambra

He further stated that the government will identify and invite the parents of the rescued children for further discussion while working with the security agencies to unearth similar cases.

“No stone will be unturned,” he stated.

“We are coming up with a powerful committee that will critically look at this disturbing scenario, with the view to seeing to the root cause and avert re-occurrence.
The children were rescued by the police in Kano State on Sunday.

According to the Commissioner of Police, Ahmed Iliyasu, the victims had been trafficked from Kano to Onitsha, the Anambra state capital, over the last five years.

Kano PDP Aggrieved By Outcome Of Governorship Election, Rejects Result


The leadership of the Peoples Democratic Party in Kano have expressed dissatisfaction at the conduct of the governorship election which produced a candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Umar Ganduje as the winner.

The PDP, at a press conference in Kano, rejected the results and vowed to contest the outcome at the election petition tribunal.

Governorship candidate of the PDP, Abba Yusuf, revealed that the party has assembled its legal team to begin a court process.

“The next line of action is for us to go to court, we have mobilised all our lawyers and they are here collecting all the pieces of evidence on the ground. By Tuesday or Wednesday, we will submit our case to the tribunal; we expect the tribunal to give us every necessary support in terms of justice. We expect our mandate to be retrieved from the APC and justice would be done.”

READ ALSO: Court To Hear AAC’s Suit On Rivers Election March 28

Deputy governorship candidate, Aminu Abdulsalam, urged the Nigeria Police and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), to do the right thing as unbiased umpires.

The level of violence in Gama was in full glare of everybody, yet nobody is willing to say a word, they even went on to say that all was well. The only way forward is for the police force to do what they are supposed to do, to be an unbiased umpire. INEC should sit up and do the right thing. Canceling the election was the best thing that could have happened.

The state party chairman, Suleiman Bichi, however, described it as ‘unfortunate’ and expressed his displeasure at the election process.

“Well I think it is a purely electoral robbery in Kano, it is unfortunate that in this era in Nigeria, this kind of thing can happen. It is beyond human imagination. I cannot fathom if this country is ready for democracy, and democracy has been massacred, battered and it is unfortunate and I hope that the leaders look into it and amend what has happened in Kano. Otherwise, this may be the end of democracy in Nigeria.”

The PDPs reaction is coming after the governorship rerun election which was conducted in 28 Local Government Areas. The incumbent governor, Umar Ganduje was returned as governor-elect of the state.

PDP Leads In Kano With Result Of One LGA Awaited

Police Arrest Two With Sacks Of Ballot Papers In Kano


Collated results from Kano State show that the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has put up a good fight to get in the lead for the Kano governorship seat. 

So far, the PDP’s governorship candidate Abba Kabir-Yusuf is leading the incumbent governor, Mr. Umar Ganduje who is also the candidate of the of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with over ten thousand (10,000) votes.

Results of forty-three (43) out of the forty-four (44) LGAs in the state have already been collated and announced.

READ ALSO: Okowa Re-Elected As Delta State Governor

The last result is expected from Nasarawa Local Government where reports suggest that some unrest disrupted the collation process.

Following the disruption, the collation of results at the Kano State collation centre was suspended by the state’s collation officer.

Professor Ristuwa Arabu Shehu the state Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), had earlier briefed journalists, observers and party representatives at the State INEC office, affirming the decision to suspend the collation exercise.

The REC however assured residents that the unrest has been handled by security operatives, adding that the commission will be fair and transparent in executing its duty.

Below are the results obtained so far, pending the announcement of the last LGA.

1. Madobi

APC. 24,491
PDP. 24,309

2. Bebeji

APC. 17,418
PDP. 18,533

3. Kunchi

APC. 16,157
PDP. 13,171
PRP. 27

4. Danbatta

APC. 24,696
PDP. 18,696
PRP. 2,793

5. Karaye

APC. 18,770
PDP. 17,163
PRP. 838

6. Albasu

APC 25,358
PDP 18,401

7. Garko

APC 16,952
PDP 12,295

8. Bunkure

APC 20, 407
PDP 20,222

9. Rano

APC 16, 694
PDP 14, 892

10. Bagwai

APC, 20,768
PDP 18,511

11. Kibiya

APC 15,760
PDP 17,373

12. Tsanyawa

APC 21,972
PDP 11,501


APC: 27,015
PDP 24,773

14. TOFA

APC 17,506
PDP 13,885

15. Gabasawa

APC. 18,215
PDP. 14,679

16. Shanono

APC. 20,691
PDP. 14,503

17. Kabo

APC. 27,522
PDP. 26,233

18. Sumaila

APC. 23,934
PDP. 16,606

19. Makoda

APC: 22,788
PDP: 9,253

20. Ajingi

APC – 17, 711
PDP – 14, 485

21. Gezawa

APC. 20,642
PDP. 24,151

22. Bichi

APC – 31,958
PDP – 27,644

23. Warawa

APC – 14,599
PDP – 15,114

24. Kiru

APC – 28,765
PDP – 27,868


25. Rimingado

APC – 19,453
PDP – 13,777

26. Gwale

APC – 23,871
PDP – 41,591

27. Wudil

APC – 18,589
PDP – 18,220

28. TudunWada

APC – 27,917
PDP – 21,556

29. Doguwa

APC – 20,696
PDP – 12,642

30. Dawakin Kudu

APC – 25,657
PDP – 30,901

31. Minjibir

APC – 17,707
PDP – 17,952

32. Garun Malam

APC – 14,765
PDP – 14,446

33. Tarauni

APC – 21,734
PDP – 35,314


34. Gaya

APC- 19,202
PDP – 18,090

35. Rogo

APC – 23,859
PDP – 27,342

36. Ungogo

APC – 26,843
PDP – 42,241

37. Dawakin Tofa

APC- 32,945
PDP- 17,418

38. Kura

APC – 22,390
PDP – 24,410

39. Kumbotso

APC- 24,751
PDP 40,417

40. Kano Municipal

APC – 32,394
PDP – 57,781

41. Takai

APC – 19,070
PDP – 14,119

42. Dala

APC – 32,530
PDP – 60,082

43. Fagge LGA

APC – 18,370
PDP – 27,344