INEC Postpones Elections In 11 Federal Constituencies In Jigawa

Channels Television  
Updated March 27, 2015

JigawaThe Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC) has postponed elections into the House of representatives in eleven federal constituencies in Jigawa State.

The Jigawa State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Halliru Aliyu Tambawel, told newsmen during a briefing on Friday night at the INEC headquarters in Dutse, the state capital.

The affected constituencies are:


Ringim/ Taura

HadeJia/Kafin Hausa/Auyo

Jahun Miga

Gumel/Maigatari/Sule tankarkar

Gagarawa, Kaugama/Malam-madori



Birnin Kudu /Buji

Birniwa/ Guri/Kirikasamma


Mr Tambawel explained that the postponement was due to the short-fall of sensitive materials including ballot papers and results sheets from the Central Bank of Nigeria.

He, however gave the assurance that the Presidential and senatorial elections would hold in all 27 Local Government Areas of Jigawa State as scheduled.