Five Ondo Assembly Members Dump PDP For APC

Channels Television  
Updated May 17, 2017

Edo Polls: Appeal Tribunal To Hear PDP, APC Suits ThursdayFive more members of the Ondo State House of Assembly have defected from the People’s Democratic Party to the ruling All Progressives Congress.

The five PDP lawmakers are the immediate past Deputy Speaker, Hon. Fatai Olotu (Akoko North East); Hon. Akinyele Fasogbon (Odigbo 2), and Hon. Kuti Towase (Akoko South East).

The others are Hon. Bimbo Fajolu (Ileoluji/Okeigbo) and Hon. Tuyi Akintimehin (Idanre).

With the defection of the five lawmakers, the APC now has 18 members, while PDP has been only eight members, which gives the ruling party the two-third majority needed to make any decision in the House of Assembly.

The legislators and their teeming supporters from their various constituencies were received into the APC by Governor Rotimi Akeredolu at the International Events Centre in Akure, the State capital.

The defection brings to 13 the number of PDP members of the House of Assembly that have defected to the ruling APC since the inauguration of Governor Akeredolu in February 2017.

Ondo, Rotimi Akeredolu,
Ondo State governor, Rotimi Akeredolu

The Deputy Chairman of APC in the State, Ade Adetimehin, and Governor Akeredolu received the new members into the fold of the party.

Also present were the State Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi; Speaker of the House of Assembly, Hon. Bamidele Oleyeloogun; the Secretary to the State Government, Ifedayo Abegunde; and other top party officials.

Governor Akeredolu in his address commended the state legislators for their support and readiness to work with the executive to move the state forward.

He expressed hope that more members of the house would join the APC and called on members of the party to accept the defectors and work together to move the state forward.

Two of the defecting legislators, Fatai Olotu as well as Bimbo Fajolu in separate interviews with journalists disclosed that their constituents were in full support of their decision to defect.

They explained that their decision to defect to the ruling APC was because it is a better platform and it will be more beneficial for their people.