Falconets Handed Tricky Group In U-20 Women’s World Cup

Channels Television  
Updated May 6, 2022
The Falconets have qualified for all editions of the U-20 World Cup. [email protected]_Falcons


The Falconets will face South Korea, Canada, and France in the U-20 Women’s World Cup after the draw was conducted at the Teatro Nacional de Costa Rica in San José on Thursday night. 

Nigeria were seeded in Pot 3 along with the US, Spain, and Mexico for the competition billed for August 10 to 28.

The top teams were seeded into pots based on their performances in the last five editions of the World Cup.

Africa’s other representatives, the Black Princesses of Ghana, are in Group D, alongside defending champions, Japan, the US, and the Netherlands.

Hosts Costa Rica, Australia, Spain, and Brazil are in Group A while Group B has Germany, Colombia, New Zealand, and Mexico.

The best two teams from each group will qualify for the knockout stage. Every group game and quarter-final fixtures will be played at the Alejandro Morera Soto while the semi-final, final, and third-place matches will hold at the Estadio Nacional.

READ ALSO: Falconets Silence Senegal, Qualify For U-20 World Cup

Since the competition began, the Falconets have featured in all editions, their best outings second-place finishes in 2010 and 2014.

Coach Christopher Danjuma’s side qualified for the competition after a 7-1 aggregate win over the Young Lionesses of Teranga in the final round of qualification.

This year’s edition, which was rescheduled owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, was supposed to hold in 2020. Nigeria crashed out of the last edition in 2018 at the quarter-final following defeat to Spain.

U-20 Women’s World Cup Groups And Teams

Below is a list of the teams and their groups for the age-grade competition: 

Group A: Costa Rica, Australia, Spain Brazil

Group B: Germany, Colombia, New Zealand, Mexico

Group C: France, Nigeria, Canada, Korea Republic

Group D: Japan, Netherlands, Ghana, USA