Edo Assembly Declares 14 Seats Vacant


The Edo State House of Assembly has declared 14 seats vacant; the 12 members-elect who have refused to present themselves for inauguration into the 7th Assembly and two others who didn’t meet the mandatory sitting requirements to continue as members.

According to the Deputy Speaker of the House, Yekini Idiaye, representing Akoko Edo State Constituency I, the resolution was reached at plenary on Wednesday, December 4.

He noted that the seats declared vacant are Etsako West I, Etsako West II, Owan East, Owan West, Etsako Central, Etsako East, and Esan Central.

Others are Uhunmwonde, Oredo East, Oredo West, Egor, Ovia North East I, Ovia North East II and Ovia southwest I.

READ ALSO: Senate Swears In Smart Adeyemi, Replaces Dino Melaye

He said two of those affected from Oredo East and Owan East, were sworn-in but failed to meet the mandatory 181-day sitting requirement for a member in a calendar year.

For others, who hadn’t been inaugurated since the proclamation of the House, he said, “Their constituents have been complaining and have come to us that they want their voices and concerns to be heard at the House. So, people who are willing to provide quality representation have to be elected to bring the matters of the distraught constituents to the floor for debate and legislation, where necessary.”

He noted that the House also passed the 2020 Appropriation Bill and affirmed the removal of the suspended Chairman of Etsako East Local Government Area, Alhaji Aramiyau Momoh, after receiving the report of the investigation committee on the appropriation of funds and undermining the financial rules and regulations of public service.

Other matters considered at the sitting, according to him, were the confirmation of the members of the board of the Edo State Internal Revenue Service (EIRS).

House Adopts Report To Establish Petroleum University

Electricity Bond

The House of Representatives has considered and adopted a report on a bill to establish the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State.

The bill, which was sponsored by Rep. Evelyn Oboro, during the 7th Assembly, but was not assented to by former president, Goodluck Jonathan.

The university, which is already existing and has even graduating students, will now have legal backing.

With its passage by the House of Representatives, it will now be forwarded to the Senate for further legislative action.