Jimi Agbaje Wins Lagos PDP Governorship Primaries

Jimi AgbajeMr Jimi Agbaje has won the governorship ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Lagos State, defeating a former Minister of State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro.

The result was announced at about 11:20pm local time on Monday.

While counting was going on, there was an uproar, as some persons tried to grab the ballot box, Channels Television’s political correspondent, Seun Okinbaloye reported.

It is one of the last results that were released in the governorship primary elections held across Nigeria.

Mr Agbaje’s victory came after there were reported discrepancies between the number of delegates and the number of ballots counted.

While 806 delegates were recorded, 863 ballots were counted at the end of the election, a development that caused a disagreement.

Mr Jimi Agbaje is a pharmacist by training from the University of Ife, now Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.

He served in many health management capacities in his early years as a pharmacist in Lagos State, and is the Managing Director of Jaykay Pharmaceutical & Chemical Company Ltd.

Ambode Emerges Lagos APC Governorship Candidate

AmbodeMr Akinwunmi Ambode, has won the All Progressives Congress, APC, governorship primaries in Lagos State.

The Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria and Public Administrator, Mr. Ambode clinched 3,735 votes to beat 11 other aspirants to win the APC ticket.

The election, which ended in the early hours of Friday, saw Ambode defeating other candidates; Supo Shashore, Adeyemi Ikuforiji, Tola Kasali, Obafemi Hamzat, Ganiyu Solomon, Lanre Ope, Tokunbo Wahab, Adekunle Disu, Abayomi Sutton, Tokunbo Agbesanwa and Leke Pitan.

Governorship candidates have also emerged for the All Progressives Congress, APC, across the country as the opposition party gears up to contest for the 2015 election.

Some of those who picked their party’s ticket in other states are the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto State), a former Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna State); and second-term-seeking governors, Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun State), Abdulfattah Ahmed (Kwara State) and Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo State).

Elsewhere, Mr. Dakuku Peterside picked the Rivers State APC ticket; Olorogun O’tega Emerhor won in Delta State, Okey Ezea in Enugu and Mr Umana Umana in Akwa Ibom State.

Trailer Kills Policeman, Two Others at Kaduna APC Primary Election

APC primaryAt least three people have been confirmed dead and many others severely injured in Kaduna when a trailer plying the Kaduna-Zaria highway failed break and crushed into members of the All Progressives Congress.

The APC members were waiting for accreditation at the Trade Fair Complex, venue of the state APC primary election on Thursday.

An eyewitness told our correspondent that the trailer lost control while approaching the Rigachikun end of the express way where thousands of APC delegates were waiting to be accredited into the Trade Fair complex.

It rammed into the crowd, killing three people on the spot, including one of the Policemen on duty.

The injured ones were taken to the hospital for treatment while the remaining delegates were immediately moved into the premises of the trade fair complex to avoid another accident.

The APC primary election was still ongoing as at the time of filing this report and the news of the incident threw the entire delegates and party officials into a mourning mood.

The state APC Chairman, Bala Bantex, has described the incident as very unfortunate.


El-Rufai Wins Kaduna APC Governorship Primaries

Nasir_elrufaiFormer Federal Capital Territory Minister, Nasir El-Rufai, has won the APC ticket to contest for the Kaduna governorship election in 2015.

In a victory tweet, El-Rufai gave his performance score at the polls.

The governorship primaries held at the Trade Fair Complex, Rigachikun, Kaduna amidst tight security with 3,557 accredited delegates from the 23 Local Government Areas.

Ballot boxes were placed inside the complex auditorium where the delegates cast their votes for aspirants of their choice through an open balloting.

Five aspirants vied for the ticket of the party, including El-Rufai, a serving member of the House of Representatives, Isah Ashiru; a former Accountant-General of Kaduna State, Haruna Saeed; the Director-General of Progressive Governors Forum, Salihu Lukman and another member of the House of Representatives, Shamsuddeen Abdullahi.

Our correspondent who monitored the exercise reported that delegates started arriving at the venue of the election as early as 9:00am and were thoroughly screened by operatives of the anti bomb unit of the Kaduna Police Command to ensure that nobody went into the hall with any dangerous weapon.

Our correspondent also reported that the entire exercise was peaceful and orderly, with men and officers of the Nigerian Police, Army and Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps fully on ground to maintain law and order.

In an interview with Channels Television after the announcement of the result, El-Rufai expressed gratitude for his victory and said that he would immediately embark on reconciliation process with his colleagues in order to build a formidable APC that will defeat the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Kaduna State in 2015 polls.

The PDP primaries slated for Monday would determine El-Rufai’s opponent for the battle for the Sir Kashim House come 2015.