Judiciary Workers Suspend Industrial Action

court_courtThe Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria has suspended its industrial action following the intervention of the Minister of Labour and Productivity, Chief Emeka Wogu.

A truce was reached after a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed at the end of a meeting between the Minister and the leadership of the Union in Abuja on Saturday.

The judiciary workers’ had embarked on a nationwide strike since July 11 to demand that all state governments comply with an order of the Federal High Court, Abuja, that all allocations meant for state judiciary should be paid directly to heads of state courts.

The MoU states that state governments are obliged to respect the provision of the 1999 Constitution as amended and comply with the judgement of the court.

According to a statement made available to Channels Television, the president of the Nigerian Labour Congress, Comrade Abdulwaheed Omar; President of Judiciary Workers’ Union, Comrade Mustapha Adamu and representatives of the ministry of labour signed the MoU.


Plateau Workers Suspend 7month Old Strike

Workers in Plateau state have suspended the industrial action they embarked on, in May 2012 over the non-payment of the N18,000 minimum wage.

The strike was suspended after the state government agreed to implement 55 per cent of the minimum wage from June.

The government also agreed to pay salaries of October, November and December immediately.

The two parties also agreed to work together to carry out a biometric screening to ascertain the actual staff strength of the local government areas within two weeks.

The Minister of Labour and Productivity, Chief Emeka Wogu, who brokered the agreement between the two parties, expressed hope that the Plateau state government will abide by the terms of agreement.

He urged the government not to witch hunt or victimize any of the workers as a result of their participation in the industrial action.

Workers in plateau state had embarked on an industrial action to protest the non-payment of the N18,000 minimum wage.


FG agrees to pay electricity workers accrued pension

The prolonged labour crises between the National Union of Electricity Employees (NUEE) and the Federal Government which began since 2010 has finally been resolved as both parties agreed that total accrued pension as at June 30, 2007 shall be paid.

PHCN employees protest over pension

The payment was agreed to be in accordance with the 2010 conditions of service of the Power Holding Company of Nigeria (PHCN).

The resolution meeting which took place at the office of the Secretary to the Federal Government agreed that 25 per cent of the accrued pension will be paid to existing PHCN staff while 75 per cent will be paid into the retirement savings accounts.

Other agreements reached were that severance allowance which shall be paid at 20 per cent of total accrued benefits among others.

Present at the meeting were the Secretary to the Government of the Federation; Senator Anyim Pius Anyim, Minister of Labour; Chief Emeka Wogu, Minister of State for Power; Hajiya Zainab Kuchi, President of the Trade Union Congress (TUC); Peter Esele, Secretary General of the National Union of Electricity Employees (NUEE) among others.

The Agreement was signed on behalf of the Federal Government by Senator Anyim, while Mr Esele and Ajearo signed on behalf of the President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC).

Jonathan gives Ministers two weeks to vet Ribadu’s report

In a bid to fulfill his pledge that recommendations made by the controversial Ribadu Report would be looked into, President Goodluck Jonathan has set up white paper committees to prepare Draft White Papers on the reports of the Petroleum Revenue Special Task Force and two other reports on the nation’s oil sector.

The others are reports presented by the National Refineries Special Task Force and the Governance and Controls Special Task Force.

A statement by the Special Adviser to the President on Media, Dr Reuben Abati on Thursday announced the appointment of the latest committee to probe the nation’s oil sector.

According to Dr Abati, “the committees are to study the reports, review the issues raised and prepare Draft White Papers for the consideration of the Federal Executive Council within two weeks.”

The white paper committee on the Petroleum Revenue Special Task Force report-now known as Ribadu report-will be chaired by the Minister of Labour, Chief Emeka Wogu, with the Minister of Interior, Comrade Abba Moro, Minister of State for FCT, Chief Jumoke Akinjide, and the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Dr. Nurudeen Mohammed as members.

It will be recalled that President Jonathan, after the rancour between members of the committee during their submission of the report, gave the assurance that despite the rancour , his administration will look into the report and prosecute any one alleged of misappropriation in the nation’s oil sector.

The Chairman of the Petroleum Revenue Task Force, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu and a member of his team, Steve Oronsaye traded words at the presentation of the committee’s report to the President with the latter alleging that the report was flawed with unconfirmed figures.

The white paper committee on the report of the Governance and Controls Special Task Force will be chaired by the Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Ms. Ama  Pepple.

Other members of the committee are Minister of State for Defence, Erelu Olusola Obada, Minister of Transport, Senator Idris Umar, and Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development, Mallam Bukar Tijani.

The white paper committee on the report of the National Refineries Special Task Force has Minister of Mines and Steel Development, Architect Mohammed Sada as chairman, and Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Dr. Akinwumi Adesina, Minister of State for Health, Dr. Muhammad Pate and Minister of State for Education, Mr. Ezenwo Nyeson Wike as members.

According to the statement, the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation will provide a secretariat for the committees.

The statement further adds that the President has made the move “in furtherance of his declared commitment to doing all within his powers to ensure greater accountability, probity and transparency in Nigeria’s oil and gas industry.”

NUPENG, JEPTFON call off two day old strike

The National Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG) and the Jetties and Petroleum Tank Farm Owners Association (JEPTFON)  have suspended their two-day old strike.

This is contained in a communiqué jointly signed by NUPENG, JEPTFON and the federal government.

The NUPENG President, Igwe Achese and JEPTFON’s Enoch Kanawa, signed for the unions, while the Minister of Labour, Chief Emeka Wogu and the Minister of State for Finance, Dr. Yerima Ngama signed for the federal government.

The Group Managing Director of NNPC, Mr. Andrew Yakubu and the Executive Secretary of Petroleum Product Pricing Regulatory Agency, Mr. Reginald Stanley were also at the meeting.

The communiqué is the outcome of the peace meeting negotiated by the minister of labour and it stated that the Ministry of Finance had commenced the payment of the Petroleum Subsidy for 2012.

It also assured the unions that the issuance of Sovereign Debt Notes for verified and processed batches would be concluded within two weeks.

The Federal Government assured NUPENG that steps would be taken on the issue of access roads leading to the refineries in Port Harcourt and Warri.

The communiqué stated that NNPC said it would complete the `Turn Around Maintenance’ (TAM) of the refineries as planned and ensure availability of crude oil to them.

It will be recalled that NUPENG had embarked on strike over the non- payment of 2012 Petroleum Subsidy arrears, state of the refineries, bad roads as well as restructuring of loans of JEPTFON members.