Edo Set To Hold 5th Edition Of Okpekpe Road Race

All is now set for the 5th edition of the Okpekpe Road Race which is scheduled for May 13, 2017 in Okpekpe, Etsako East local government area of Edo state.

Addressing journalists at the Government House in Benin City, the Edo state capital, a team from the organising committee led by Mike Itemuagbor, disclosed that the event has seen some upgrades including a mobile app for access to competition details and the use of transponders and trackers to eliminate cheats.

He disclosed further that the 10km Okpekpe Road Race which is a bronze category event of the International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF), will make Edo state a tourist attraction.

Itemuagbor added that athletes from 11 countries namely, Kenya, Uganda, Eritrea, Turkey, Germany, Bahrain, Morocco, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Burundi and Nigeria, are expected to participate in this year’s edition.

He assured participants of improvements in the competition particularly the VIP race.

“We want to do an effective VIP race, especially those that would run for a cause,” the committee leader stated.

On his part, the Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, lauded the organisers for the innovations in the 2017 edition.

Edo State To Rebrand Bendel Insurance Football Club

Adams Oshiomhole.The Edo State government has inaugurated a seven-man Interim Management Committee to reposition and restore the lost glory of Bendel Insurance Football Club.

Part of the committee’s responsibilities is to rebrand the football team.

At the inauguration, Governor Adams Oshiomhole stressed that the State needed to rebuild a complete new team to take the Football Club back to the top and assured the committee of his support and commitment.

The seven-man committee which is made up of Former Super Eagle Coaches Amodu Shiabu and Austin Eguavoen is chaired by the Secretary to Edo State Government, Prof. Julius Ihonvbere.

Governor Oshiomhole noted that repositioning Bendel Insurance FC was the only area his government had not addressed since he assumed office.

The Chairman of the Interim Committee thanked the governor for creating a platform to refocus the team that was once a favourite of all and assured him that the committee would live up to expectation.

Other members of the committee are Mike Itemuagbor, Mr. Abel Ehigie, Charles Ehimekpen and Omokhagbor Sixtus.