Bayelsa Election: Gov. Dickson Emerges PDP Sole candidate

dicksonGovernor Seriake Dickson has emerged as the sole governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the upcoming governorship elections in Bayelsa State.

Two other candidates contesting the December 5 governorship race against Governor Seriake Dickson in Bayelsa State have been disqualified by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Senator Emmanuel Paulker, representing Bayelsa Central Senatorial District and Ebikintin Diongoli a former Local Government Chairman of Kolokuma/Opokuma, who also served as Commissioner for Sports Development in the Governor Dickson-led administration were disqualified from the race during a screening exercise at the Zonal Office in Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

The Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Osom Macbere, confirmed that Governor Dickson passed the screening exercise which authorizes him to run for the office of Governor the second time.

Bayelsa PDP Expels 9 Members

pdpThe Bayelsa State Chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has expelled nine of its members from the party over anti-party activities in the last general elections.

The decision for the expulsion is contained in a statement presented to Journalist by the state Acting Chairman of the party, Chief Serena Dokubo Spiff, at the party’s Secretariat in Yenagoa.

The affected members are; Senator Nimi Barigha-Amange, Mr. Nestor Binabo, a former acting Governor of the state, Chief Werinipre Seibarugu, Mr. Waripamowei Dudafa, also a former acting Governor, Special Adviser to the President on Domestic Affairs and Mr. Chamberlain Kren Ikidi, others are, Mr. Osomkime Blankson, Mr. Emmanuel Okponipre, Mr. Ebikapade Dibiya and Joyce Fouyowei.

According to the statement, the decision for the expulsion of the members followed an unanimous voice vote by members of the State Executive Committee, after deliberations on the report submitted by the Chairman of the PDP Disciplinary Committee set up on the 19th of April to investigate the conduct of members of the party in the last electoral outing.

The statement however noted that some of the members, who are in the National Assembly or holding appointments at the national level would be referred to the national body of the PDP for further disciplinary measures in line with the provisions of the party’s constitution.

Such members are: Retired Colonel Sam Inokoba, Senator Emmanuel Paulker, while Fiebai Gbeinbo has been suspended for three months.

Chief Dokubo-Spiff in the statement announced that, Mr. Leghemo Kaiser and Mr. Denyabofa Dimaro are to render apology to the leadership of the PDP, while Dr. Godson Omubo-Dede and Mr. Dan Omubo-Dede have been reprimanded.

The statement also revealed that a Contact and Reconciliation Committee has been set up to look into the grievances of members and reconcile them back to the PDP fold.

Nigeria’s President To Meet With Investors In London

President Goodluck Jonathan will be visiting the United Kingdom on Wednesday for a three-day meeting with foreign investors.

The meeting is aimed at attracting more investments to Nigeria.

Issues that would be discussed at the meeting of Nigeria’s Honourary International Investors’ Council include generating long-term affordable finance for Nigeria’s real sector, developing Nigeria’s private equity and venture capital sectors to attract more foreign investments and Nigeria’s information and communications technology master-plan.

The government’s spokesman, Ruben Abati, said that the council’s meeting, coordinated by Baroness Lynda Chalker, would also feature a review of Nigeria’s existing investment policies by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, the Paris-based international organization dedicated to the promotion of policies that would improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

“President Jonathan will be accompanied by Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan of Delta State, Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State, Senator Emmanuel Paulker, Senator Nenadi Usman, Hon. Sylvester Ogbaga, Hon. Isiaka Bawa, the Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the Minister of Industry, Trade and Investments, Dr. Olusegun Aganga and the Governor of the Central Bank, Mr. Lamido Sanusi.

Others on the President’s entourage include the Minister of Petroleum Resources, Mrs. Diezani Allison-Madueke, the Minister of Communications Technology, Mrs. Omobola Johnson, the Minister of Power, Prof. Chinedu Nebo, the Minister of Special Duties, Mr. Kabiru Turaki, the Minister of State (Foreign Affairs), Prof. Viola Onwuliri and heads of relevant government agencies”, Abati said in a statement on Tuesday.

The accompanying Ministers and heads of agencies will brief the gathering on developments in their areas of responsibility, and also lead discussions on proposals for overcoming identified challenges.

Some members of the council are the CEO of the Investment Corporation of Dubai, Mr. Mohammed al Shaibani, a former South African Minister of Public Enterprises, Mr. Alec Erwin and the Vice President of Hewlett-Packard’s Enterprise Group in Europe and Middle-East and Africa, Mr. Olivier Suinat.

The President is expected back in Nigeria at the weekend.

Senator Says Both President And Petroleum Minister Have Power To Allocate Oil Bloc

The Chairman of the Senate Committee on Petroleum upstream, Emmanuel Paulker has said that the power to allocate oil bloc in Nigeria rest both on the President and the Minister of Petroleum Resources.

Senator Paulker who spoke with reporters after a meeting organised by the Senate prior to its public hearing on the Petroleum Industry Bill (PIB) said the president can use his discretion to allocate oil blocs to persons who have the resources to manage them.

He said though the constitution allows the Minister of Petroleum to make recommendations on who should be allocated oil blocs, the PIB will ensure that a regulatory body which is not under the Minister is established to review the process of allocation.

Other Senators who spoke said that the proposed PIB will help improve the nation’s petroleum sector through greater investment.