Amateur player gets call up for Super Eagles friendly with Niger

Channels Television  
Updated August 2, 2012

Super Eagles’ Head Coach, Stephen Keshi, on Wednesday invited 25 players from the Nigeria Premier League and one from the amateur rank for camping ahead of the international friendly against the Mena of Niger, billed for August 15 at the Seyni Koutche Stadium, Niamey.

Top of the list of invited players is Warri Wolves shot stopper and skipper Chigozie Agim, with Heartland FC’s Daniel Akpeyi and Moses Ocheje of CAF Champions League campaigners’ Sunshine Stars.

The surprise invitee is FAME Academy striker, Chibuzor Onyekwelu. A number of new faces in the defence include Enugu Rangers’ ace Osuchukwu Ogonna, Kwambe Solomon of Sunshine Stars, Heartland FC’s Francis Benjamin, Ezekiel Henry of Rising Stars and Umar Zango of high-riding Kano Pillars.

They join Azubuike Egwuekwe, Papa Idris, Juwon Oshaniwa and Godfrey Oboabona.

Midfielders and strikers include Kano Pillars’ boy-with-rising-profile Reuben Gabriel, Izu Azuka, Sunday Mba, Ejike Uzoenyi, Uche Kalu, Henry Uche and Obinna Nwachukwu. New faces are Christian Ofili, Solomon Jabason, Kabiru Umar, Chibuzor Onyekwelu, Sanusi Sani, Sibi Gwar and Philip Asuquo.

The players are expected to resume at the Bolton White Apartments, Abuja on Sunday, 5th August.

The invited players

Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Warri Wolves), Daniel Akpeyi (HeartlandFC), Moses Ocheje (Sunshine Stars)

Defenders: Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), Papa Idris (Kano Pillars), Juwon Oshaniwa (Sharks FC), Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars), Ezekiel Henry (Rising Stars), Francis Benjamin (Heartland FC), Umar Zango (Kano Pillars), Osuchukwu Ogonna (Enugu Rangers), Kwambe Solomon (Sunshine Stars)

Midfielders/Forwards: Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers), Sunday Mba (Warri Wolves), Reuben Gabriel (Kano Pillars), Izu Azuka (Sunshine Stars), Uche Kalu (Enyimba FC), Henry Uche (Enyimba FC), Obinna Nwachukwu (Heartland FC), Christian Ofili (ABS FC), Solomon Jabason (Akwa United), Kabiru Umar (HeartlandFC), Chibuzor Onyekwelu (FAME FC),Sani (Gombe United), Sibi Gwar (Niger Tornadoes), Philip Asuquo (3SC).