FCTA inaugurates committee to tackle deforestation

Channels Television  
Updated September 14, 2012

The Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) on Thursday established a 25-man committee to tackle the menace of deforestation in the Federal Capital City.

The Chairperson of the Deforestation Committee and Minister of State for FCT, Olajumoke Akinjide, disclosed that the Committee was established to find a holistic approach to controlling the hazard in the FCT.

Akinjide, who inaugurated the Committee, explained that the FCT was faced with various environmental problems such as excessive heat, erosion, bush burning, flood, and loss of soil fertility which has contributed to food insecurity.

“The effects of deforestation in FCT today cannot be over-emphasized since it is witnessed by all and sundry. It is evident in the increased FCT daily temperature in recent times. Few years ago, the highest daily temperature was as low as 27oc but now is between 34oc – 37oc in some months of the year.

“My attention has also been drawn to the increasing rate of deforestation in FCT which is seen in heaps of fire wood, bags of charcoal along our major roads, piles of timber exploitation from already over-exploited forests,” she stated.

The minister charged members of the committee to identify the immediate and remote causes of deforestation in the FCT and also proffer effective ways of enforcing the existing forest law in the territory.

She also directed the Committee to recommend possible areas of inter-departmental collaborations with a view to curbing deforestation and ameliorating its effects.

“The inauguration of the Committee will no doubt help to foster a harmonious relationship with our environment and lead to achieving a sustainable environmental development especially now that the entire World is facing the menace of climate change/global warning that are having negative effects on the environment and man,” she added.

Members of the Committee include: Secretary of Agriculture and Rural Development Secretariat in the FCT, Mrs. Olvadi Bema Madayi; Secretary of Area Council Service Secretariat, Alhaji Yahaya Ibrahim; Chairman of Abuja Municipal Area Council, Hon. Micah Jiba; Chairman of Bwari Area Council, Hon. Peter Yohanna; Chairman of Kuje Area Council, Hon. Danladi Etsu Zhin; Chairman of Gwagwalada Area Council, Hon. Zakari Angulu Dobi; Chairman of Abaji Area Council, Hon. Yahaya Musa Muhammed, and Chairman of Kwali Area Council, Hon. Joseph Shazin amongst others.