Ganduje Declared Winner In Kano, As APC Sweeps State Assembly

Channels Television  
Updated April 13, 2015

KanoKano State Deputy Governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, has been declared winner of Saturday’s governorship elections under the platform of the All Progressives Congress.

Announcing the results, the Kano State collation officer, Professor Muhammad Hamisu, said that Ganduje scored 1,546,434 votes to defeat his PDP counterpart Salihu Takai who polled 509,726 votes.

A total of 2,109,811 votes were cast out of the 2,238,369 accredited voters from a total of 5,006,713 registered voters across the 44 local government areas of the state. 2, 073,165 votes were valid while 36,646 votes were rejected.

The All Progressives Congress, APC, also won all the 40 seats of the state House of Assembly in Kano State.

In Katsina State, a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Bello Masari of the APC was declared winner having polled 943,815 votes to defeat his PDP counterpart Mr. Musa Nashuni who scored 496,768 votes.

The APC also won the 33 seats in Katsina State and all the 25 seats in the Zamfara State House of Assembly respectively.