Okagbare To Lead Nigeria’s Team To IAAF World Athletics Championships

Channels Television  
Updated August 4, 2015

okagbareBlessing Okagbare will be leading Nigeria’s team to the 2015 IAAF World Athletics Championships that will hold in Beijing, China, from August 22 to 30.

A breakdown of a list by the Athletics Federation of Nigeria indicates that a total of 18 female, five male athletes and 10 officials will make the trip to Beijing.

Aside Okagbare, some of the other athletes that would participate at the World Championships are Gloria Asumnu, who won the 100 women’s event at the national trials in the absence of Okagbare, Cecilia Francis, Stephanie Kalu, Deborah Odeyemi and Ngozi Onwumere.

Uhunoma Osazuwa, who set a new National Record in Heptathlon last week in Warri, is also part of the athletes’ list.

The five selected athletes in the men’s category are Ogho-Oghene Egwero, Odele Tega Peter , Tyron Akins, Ukaoma Miles and Tosin Oke.

Full list of Team Nigeria Athletes

Female Athletes


1 Blessing Okagbare
2 Gloria Asumnu
3 Stephanie Kalu
4 Deborah Odeyemi
5 Cecilia Francis
6 Ngozi Onwumere


7 Patience Okon
8 Regina George
9 Oluwatosin Adeloye
10 Etim Margaret
11 Funke Oladoye
12 Rita Ossai

High Jump

13 Doreen Amata


14 Lindsay Weyimi Lindley


15 Amaka Ogoegbunam

Long Jump

16 Ese Brume


17 Chinwe Okoro


18 Uhunoma Naomi Osazuwa

Male Athletes

1 Ogho-Oghene Egwero


2. Odele Tega Peter


3 Tyron Akins


4 Ukaoma Miles

Triple Jump

5 Tosin Oke


1 President
2 Technical Director
3 Secretary General
4 Prof Kenneth Anugweje
5 Gabriel Okon
6 Maurice Greene
7 Solomon Aliyu
8 Yussuf Alli
9 Kayode Thomas
10 Falilat Ogunkoya