FG Appoints 13 University Vice Chancellors

Channels Television  
Updated February 14, 2016

Vice ChancellorsThe Federal Government has clarified the appointment of the Vice Chancellors of 12 federal universities that were established by the administration of former President Goodluck Jonathan and the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN).

A statement signed by the Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu, and issued in Abuja says President Muhammadu Buhari approved the appointment of the new Vice Chancellors due to the fact that the tenure of the Vice Chancellors being replaced had expired.

According to the statement, the VC of NOUN, Professor Tenebe was replaced with Professor Abdalla Uba Adamu of the Department of Mass Communication, Bayero University, Kano, while the substantive VC of the Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State, Professor Mohammed Kundiri, was transferred to the Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State.

A former Head, Department of International Relations at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Prof Kayode Soremekun is the new VC of the Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State.

The Federal University, Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State, has Professor Auwal Yadudu of the Faculty of Law, Bayero University, Kano, as its new VC. Professor Fatima Batoul Muktar of the Department of Biology, North West University, Kano, is the now VC of Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State.

A lecturer in the Department of Pharmacy, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Prof. Haruna Abdu Kaita, is the new VC of Federal University, Dutsin Ma, Katsina State, while Prof. Andrew Haruna of the Department of Linguistics, University Of Jos (UNIJOS), will now function as VC, Federal University, Gashua, Yobe State.

Another lecturer in the Department of Pharmacy, Abu, Zaria, Prof. Magaji Garba, has been appointed VC of Federal University, Gusau, Zamfara State, while Prof. Alhassan Mohammed Gani of the institute of Maritime Studies, Federal University, Kashere in Gombe State, has been elevated to the position of VC of the institution.

A lecturer in the Department of Physics, Federal University, Lafia, Professor Muhammad Sanusi Liman, will henceforth be the VC of same institution.

Professor Angela Miri of the Linguistics Department, UNIJOS, is the new VC of Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State.

The Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State, now has Professor Chinedum Nwajiuba of the Post-Graduate School, Imo State University, Owerri, as its VC, while Professor Seth Jaja of the Department of Management, University Of Port Harcourt, is now the VC of Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa State‎.