Team Nigeria Arrive Conakry For Africa Women’s Junior Handball Championship

Austin Okon-Akpan  
Updated February 18, 2022


Nigeria’s Under-20 female team have arrived in Conakry, Guinea for the 28th edition of the Africa Junior Handball Championship.

The championship is scheduled to take place from the 19th to the 26th of February 2022. Nigeria has been drawn in group B and will play their opening match against the hosts. Algeria and Gambia complete the group

Speaking to the media before their departure, Head Coach, Coach Bukola Duru said the team is ready to make Nigeria proud in Guinea. He said the timely friendly games they had against Safety Babes, champions of the Prudent Energy Handball Premier League, was useful.

“We are ready and with the level of training they have been getting, we’ll ensure we make Nigeria proud by proving our doubting Thomases wrong,” Coach Duro said.

“The board of the Handball Federation of Nigeria really supported us in all aspects and I know we will reciprocate by doing well in the court and ensure we not just qualify for the World Championship but also win the cup”.

“We had the experience of playing the defending champion of the Prudent Energy Handball Premier League Safety Babes thrice and with the experience we have we can conquer Africa”, Coach Duru added.


Team captain, Toyin Yusuf, assured that the players are ready to win the cup for Nigeria.

“We are ready to win the cup’ and make Nigeria proud and with everything our coaches have put us through, we believe we are tactically and technically capable of doing well in the competition,” Toyin said

Team Nigeria delegation is led by the Technical Representative of the Handball Federation of Nigeria, Coach Bala Mohammed, and he is pleased with the level of support of HFN to the team.

Team List

1. Nuhu Wuraola
2. Alawaye Rahmat
3. Daniel Catherine
4. Inikpi Aruwa
5. Gbamire Grace
6. Muhinat Yusuf
7. Babatunde Taiwo
8. Yusuf Toyin
9. Abdullahi Favour
10. Adewole Faidat
11. Jimmy Gloria Habibat
12. Anih Jacinta
13. Babatunde Kehinde
14. Mathew Esther
15. Abdulrazak B.Idowu