Akpata, Adegboruwa, 36 Others Appointed As SANS [FULL LIST]

Solicitor-General of the Federation, Dayo Akpata, and Human Right Activist, Ebun-Olu Adegboruwa have made the list of newly appointed Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SANS).

The 38 lawyers were elevated by the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee during its 138th session held during the new plenary session held on July 4.

Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court Hadizatu Mustapha made the announcement on Friday.

Mustapha said, out of the 117 lawyers that applied for the rank this year, 80 were shortlisted, out of which the final 38 emerged.

She said the 38 new SANs include two females, three from the academics and 35 advocates.

Adedoyin Rhodes-Vivour who is the wife of Justice Olabode Rhodes-Vivour of the Supreme Court is one of the new female SANs.

The new Senior Advocates will be conferred with the honours at the resumption of the next legal year.


See full list of the new Senior Advocates below…



  • Adedoyin Oyinkan Rhodes-Vivour

  • Abdullahi Haruna

  • Manga Mohammed Nurudeen

  • Adedayo Toba Apata

  • John Onuegbulam Asoluka

  • Adedokun Matthew Makinde

  • Daniel Chwukwudi Enwelum

  • Emmanuel Adeyeye Oyebanji

  • Tuduru Uchendu Ede

  • Abdul Olajide Ajana

  • Ama Vemaark Etuwewe

  • Oladipo Adekorede Olasope

  • Leslie Arthur Olutayo Nylander

  • Olusegun Oyediran Fowowe

  • Andrew Essien Hutton

  • Olukayode Abayomi Enitan

  • Paul Harris Adkole Ogbole

  • Olaniyi Maruph Olopade

  • Samuel Ngozi Agweh

  • Olusegun Omoniyi Jolaawo

  • Professor Alphonsus Okoh Alubo

  • Ayo Asala

  • Abiodun Adediran Olatunji

  • Olumide Andrew Aju

  • Chimezie Victor Chikwem Ihekweazu

  • Professor Mamman Lawan

  • Professor Uchefula Ugonna Chuwumaeze

  • Usman Ogwu Sule

  • Safiya Umar Babamasi

  • Echezona Chukwudi Etiaba

  • Godwin Osemeahon Omoaka

  • Emeka Onyemaechi Ozoani

  • Alexander Chukwudi Ejesieme

  • Jephthah Chikodi Njikonye

  • Aikhunigbe Anthony Malik

  • Alhassan Akeje Umar

  • Oyetola Muyiwa Atoyebi


Supreme Court Confers SAN Title On Keyamo, 28 Others

The Supreme Court has conferred the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria on 29 lawyers including Mr Festus Keyamo and a former National Legal Adviser of the Peoples Democratic Party, Mr Olusola Oke.

Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen, swore the new SANs in at the Special Court of the Supreme Court in Abuja.

During the ceremony, the CJN vowed to deal with erring judicial workers and called on the new Senior Advocates to utilise their new status appropriately or risk having the titles withdrawn.

He said, “I must remind you that being a privilege, it can, and shall be withdrawn if abused. “The privilege you are conferred with today is not intended as a weapon of intimidation or licence for rudeness and arrogance.

“It is an appointment that places both moral and professional duties on you, for which you have been found worthy to bear and discharge.”

Senate To Screen Walter Onnoghen on March 1
File photo: Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen

19 Lawyers Appointed As Senior Advocates Of Nigeria For 2013

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC) has confirmed the appointment of the private prosecutor of Economic and Financial Crimes Commission’s (EFCC), Mr. Godwin Odumu Obla and 18 other legal practitioners as Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SANs) for the year 2013.

LPPC made the confirmation on Friday during its meeting in Abuja.

Announcing the list of the 19 successful candidates for the 2013 members of the inner bar to the media, the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court/LPPC secretary, Sunday Olorundahunsi said the committee has found only one member of the academia, Prof. Lawrence Asekome Atsegbua of the University of Benin worthy to wear the silk cloth for this year.

Other legal practitioners appointed include Adele Eberechi, Olumide Olusoga Sofowora, Uko Essien Udom, Anthony Ikechukwu Ani, Suraj Sa’eda and Anthony Chukwuemeka Anaenugwu.

Others are Joe Ad’ojo Abrahams, Akinlolu Timothy Kehinde, Biriyai Dambo, Chukwuma-Machukwu Ume, Olalekan Fatai Yusuf, Moyosore Jubril Onigbanjo, Aliyu miatasamu Abdullahi, and the wife of Chief Solomon Adegboyega Awomolo (SAN), Mrs. Victoria Olufunmilayo Awomolo.