Fifa Bans Arrested Officials Over Fraud Probe

Channels Television  
Updated May 28, 2015

FifaThe Ethics Committee of world football governing body, Fifa has banned 11 top officials including its executive members from all football-related activities.

The banned individuals are: Jeffrey Webb, Eduardo Li, Julio Rocha, Costas Takkas, Jack Warner.

Others are Eugenio Figueredo, Rafael Esquivel, José Maria Marin, Nicolás Leoz, Chuck Blazer and Daryll Warner.

These individuals were indicted and arrested on bribery and racketeering charges relating to the bidding process for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups.

South Africa’s Sports Minister, Fikile Mbalula, has said that South Africa’s successful bid for the 2010 World Cup has not been tainted in any shape or form.

Mbalula was speaking a day after the game was plunged into turmoil following the arrest of senior Fifa officials on corruption charges.

He also said that all 2010 soccer World Cup funds are accounted for and audited.

Blatter Refuses To Quit

Meanwhile, Sepp Blatter refused to resign following a request from UEFA chief, Michel Platini, and then opened the 65th Fifa congress in Zurich.

The 79-year-old held an emergency meeting with key Fifa officials on Friday after world football’s governing body was subjected to yet more damaging corruption claims.

He then met Platini alone, at which point he was urged to quit, but refused and vowed to carry on with his mandate.

Blatter, who is seeking a fifth term as president appears to still have the support of the Confederation Of African Football as well as the Asian Football Confederation.