2007/2011 Elections: NHRC Indicts Osunbor, Iwu, Uduaghan Of Malpractice

Channels Television  
Updated August 11, 2016

NHRCThe National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) report on ending electoral impunity has indicted 118 of committing various offences.

The indicted persons are said to have committed various forms of malpractices and violence during the 2007/2011 general elections in Nigeria.

Amongst those indicted by the report are the former governor of Delta State, Emmanuel Uduaghan, former governor of Edo State, Professor Oserheimen Osunbor, a former Acting Governor of Kogi State, Clarence Olafemi and a former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Maurice Iwu and Senator Ayo Arise.

Others are the Independent National Electoral Commission and its officials in Anambra, Ebonyi, Delta, Kastina, Kogi and Rivers States, the Appeal Court, Election Petition Tribunals and political parties such as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Nigerian People Party (ANPP).

The Executive Secretary of the Commission, Prof. Ben Angwe said those indicted will be further investigated and charged to the appropriate courts of the land.

The report noted that violence has become part and parcel of elections in Nigeria, noting that cases of ballot box snatching, kidnapping and even murder have been reported during various elections conducted in Nigeria.

Prof. Angwe further noted that it will no longer be business as usual as anyone found wanting will be charged to the appropriate court.

Speaking on behalf of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), a National Commissioner in the Organization, Mr Adedeji Shoyebi, said violence has contributed to the recent inconclusiveness of elections across the country and advocated for an electoral offences court as a solution to the menace.

The Chairman of the Technical Working Committee, which carried out the review of the elections, Prof. Nsongura Udombana, gave a breakdown of those indicted by the various electoral tribunal across the country.