By-Election: Odey wins PDP Senatorial Ticket In Cross River

Stephen Odey won the PDP Senatorial Ticket In Cross River on September 5, 2020.
Stephen Odey won the PDP Senatorial Ticket In Cross River on September 5, 2020.


A former chairman of the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB), Dr Stephen Odey has emerged the winner of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) ticket for Cross River North Senatorial bye-election.

Odey polled 450 votes to defeat his closest rival and member of the House of Representatives, Hon Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe, who garnered 90 votes.

The exercise, which took place at Ogoja council headquarters, was witnessed by officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The chairman of the electoral panel, Hon Olorogun Taleb Tebite, described the process as peaceful and orderly.

He declared Odey as the winner of the primary election having scored the highest number of votes.

One of the INEC officials who observed the primaries, Mr. Amula Timotheus expressed satisfaction with the exercise.

He said the exercise was conducted in line with INEC guidelines and was therefore, satisfactory.

On his part, the state governor, Sir Ben Ayade, expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the exercise.

The governor, who spoke moments after casting his vote lauded the peaceful atmosphere under which the election was held.

He also commended INEC for playing their observatory role adequately.

Governor Ayade said the election was a family affair as all the candidates are members of the PDP family in the state.

He assured that the party will work together in their collective interest to win the general election.

Ibezim Is Duly Elected Candidate For Imo North Election, Says APC


The All Progressives Congress (APC) has come out to say that the primary election conducted by the Senator Surajudeen Basiru-chaired Committee for the Imo North Senatorial District By-Election is the recognised exercise.

The APC, in a statement, signed by Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Yekini Nabena, on Thursday, explained that the Basiru-chaired committee is the duly appointed panel by the party’s Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee chaired by Governor Mai Mala Buni.

The statement maintained that only outcomes from the Basiru-chaired committee is tenable and will be accepted by the party.

Meanwhile, the committee conducted the primary election today with Frank Ibezim emerging winner with 13,637 votes.

READ ALSO: Imo North: Two Candidates Emerge In APC Primary By-Elections

A total of 11 aspirants were cleared, including Ifeanyi Ararume, Achonu Nneji, Mathew Omegara, Chijioke Uchendu.

Other aspirants include; Frank Ibezim, Chidinma Uwajumogu, Uchenna Ubah, Okoro Joachim, Nwachukwu Uchenna, Onuoha Chijioke and Ihim Iheanacho.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), will conduct concurrent legislative by-elections on October 31 to fill various legislative seats left vacant.

The primary election conducted is to enable the party to pick its candidate after the death of the Senator who represented the district, Ben Uwajumogu on December 18, 2019.

Yobe Holds National Assembly By-Election

Yobe National Assembly Election The National Assembly by-election is currently holding in Yobe State, northeast Nigeria.

The election is taking place in order to fill the vacant seat left by the Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, Khadija Ibrahim.

Mrs Ibrahim represented the Damaturu, Gujba, Gulani and Tarmuwa Federal Constituency before her nomination to serve in the President Muhammadu Buhari’s cabinet.

The election is holding in Damaturu, the state capital, as well as Gujba, Gulani and Tarmuwa Local Government Areas, constituting the federal constituency.

The streets of Damaturu, like other affected council areas remain deserted, as security operatives continue to search for vehicles and people using the road.

Reports say that electoral officials arrived most venues on Saturday morning in good time for the polls.

The Minister for State Foreign Affairs Khadija Bukar Ibrahim while casting her votes at the Emir of Damaturu polling station commended INEC and electoral officers for the conduct of the exercise.

She also praised the conduct of the electorate whom she said conducted themselves in orderly manner.

Four political parties: National Conscience Party (NCP), Advance Congress for Democracy (ACD), All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) are participating in the by-election.