EDO 2012: Battle for the ‘Heart Beat’ state begins

Channels Television  
Updated July 14, 2012

The over 3 million people of Edo State will today decide who will occupy the Dennis Osadebay Government House seat as their governor.

Seven candidates are contending to become the governor of Edo state.

Those eyeing the coveted seat are:

1. Adams Oshiomhole of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN)

2. Maj.-Gen. Charles Airhiavbere (retd.) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

3. Solomon Edebiri of the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP)

4. Izevbuwa Roland of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC)

5. Andrew Igwemoh of the Labour Party (LP)

6. Mr. Paul Orumwense of the National Conscience Party (NCP)

7. Frank Onaiv of the Social Democratic Mega Party (SDMP)

However, all eyes will be on three candidates: Misters Oshiomhole, Airhiavbere and Edebiri because of their antecedents.

Projected voting pattern

The Heartbeat State is divided into three senatorial districts composed of several ethnic groups. Some political analysts have argued that this may affect the pattern of voting today.

The ethnic political dimension has been between sharing the powers among the three senatorial districts of the state, with major dominance in this election between Edo South and the Edo North district.

By INEC Figure, Edo South holds over 59% of the voters while the North and Central shares the balance percentage in succeeding order.

The North has the incumbent governor, Adams Oshiomhole, who is of the ACN; Etsako West, Labour Party’s Andrew Igwemoh is from Etsako East, and Prince Frank Ukonga of the Social Democratic Mega Party (SDMP) is from Akoko Edo LGA.

For the Edo South, the main opposition party candidate, Charles Ehigie Airhiavbere, of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) Ovia North East LGA, Solomon Iyobosa Edebiri of the All Nigeria People’s Party (ANPP) Uhunmwonde LGA, Roland Izevbuwa of Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) Ikpoba-Okha LGA and Imaguomwanrhuo Orunmwense of National Conscience Party (NCP) Ovia North East LGA.

Edo Central is popularly referred to as the very stronghold of the PDP and is made up of five local governments namely, Esan West, Esan Central, Igueben, Esan North East and Esan South East making up the six constituencies at the state house of Assembly.

Esan central senatorial districts boast of a number of political heavyweights who have held their sway strongly at the national level.

Very notable ones now include the National Leader of the PDP, Tony Anenih who hails from Uromi in Esan North East Local Government. The National leader of the ACN, Tom Ikimi who hails from Igueben is also from this District just as well as the Minister of Works, Mike Onolememe.

INEC is ready

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has the assurance to citizens of Edo state that today’s governorship election will be conducted in a free and transparent manner.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Kassim Gaidam affirmed that security and logistics arrangement have been put in place to ensure a smooth and credible election in the state.

Send your comments and pictures to [email protected]; on facebook @; and on twitter @ www.twitter/channelstv_ng