Kogi APC Primary Records Peaceful Turnout As Collation Of Votes Commences

UN Asks Nigerians To Reject Persons Seeking To Disrupt Elections


The primary election of All Progressive Congress (APC) in Kogi State recorded a peaceful turnout as collation of votes has commenced.

The exercise commenced as early as 8 am on Thursday with accreditation of over 4000 delegates from the 239 wards of the 21 local government areas of the state.

READ ALSO: Governor Lalong Appoints New SSG, Chief Of Staff

Chairman of the APC primary election committee for Kogi State and the Governor of Jigawa State, Mohammed Abubakar Badaru while addressing the 10 participating aspirants, assured them that the committee will be transparent at all level of the election.

Also speaking the governor of Nasarawa State, Abdullahi Sule, urged the party members to be rest assured that the primary election will concluded in an atmosphere of peace and orderliness.

Meanwhile, sorting of votes have started in the last three hours but seven ballot boxes still remained unsorted as at the time of filing this report.

The total delegates is 3,837 while 3,596 was accredited for the election.

However the breakdown shows that statutory delegates 126, State Executives 37, while local government delegates 567 as wards delegates 3,107.

APC NWC Clears Nine Aspirants For Kogi Governorship Primary

Court Nullifies Zamfara APC Governorship Primary

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has cleared nine aspirants for the party’s indirect governorship primary in Kogi State.

This was after the working committee deliberated on the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the primary.

Governor Yahaya Bello is among the nine aspirants cleared by Committee while Mustapha Audu, son to late Prince Abubakar Audu was one of those that were not cleared.

READ ALSO: APC Disqualifies Ex-INEC REC From Bayelsa Governorship Primary

The NWC gave the nod to the aspirants after deliberating on the reports of the screening and appeal committees for the party’s Kogi Governorship aspirants.

This was contained in a statement signed by the APC national publicity secretary, Lanre Issa-Onilu, who says the aspirants were cleared after a comprehensive review of submissions by the two committees.

Two women including Hadiza Ibrahim and Aishat Ekele are also among the nine cleared aspirants for the APC primary.

The statement added that the NWC relied on the party’s guidelines and the provisions of the electoral act to clear the nine aspirants, while seven others who did not meet the requirements for participation in the exercise were not cleared.


See the full list of those cleared and those not cleared below…



  1. Yahaya Bello
  2. Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim
  3. Yahaya Odidi Audu
  4. Sani Lulu Abdullahi
  5. Engr. Abubakar Bashir
  6. Engr. Danlami Umar Mohammed
  7. Yakubu Mohammed
  8. Hassan Abdullahi
  9. Ekele Aishat Blessing



  1. Prof. Mohammed Seidu Onaili
  2. Usman Oyibe Jibrin
  3. Mustapha Mona Audu
  4. Rukkaya Ibrahim
  5. Gen. Patrick Adenu Akpa
  6. Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera
  7. Muhammed Abubakar Unukwu Audu

Kogi APC Primaries: Court Orders Parties To Maintain Status Quo

Court Nullifies Zamfara APC Governorship Primary

A Federal High Court sitting in Abuja has asked parties in a suit filed by four aggrieved members of the Kogi State executive committee of the All Progressive Congress (APC) to maintain status quo.

The aggrieved members are seeking for an order of court to restrain the party from adopting the Indirect Voting mode in selecting its candidate for the forthcoming governorship election.

The court ruled that pending the hearing and determination of the suit on August 19th 2019, the parties should maintain status quo.

Justice Taiwo Taiwo sitting as the vacation judge in his ruling on Friday held that in view of the urgency of the matter it will be better to give accelerate hearing to the main suit rather than grant the interim injunction been sort.

He also says he will abridge the time for hearing to enable the court to hear it and deliver it to position.

He therefore ordered that nothing must be done until the hearing and dispensation of the main suit on August 19, 2019.

The four aggrieved had earlier filed an experte application asking the Abuja Division of the Federal High Court to restrain the party from adopting the Indirect Voting mode in selecting its candidate for the forthcoming governorship election.

The plaintiffs, who are members of the State Executive Committee as well as delegates in the primary election slated for August 29, predicated their actions on the grounds that the indirect system of voting if allowed would not provide a fair and level playing ground for all participants.

The plaintiffs in the exparte motion with marked: CS/833/19, include Destiny Aromeh, Isa Abubakar, Noah AkuĀ and Joy Onu, first to fourth plaintiffs respectively while the APC is the defendant in the case.