Amosun Suspends Executives Of Ijebu East LGA

Channels Television  
Updated December 10, 2012

The Governor of Ogun State, Mr Ibikunle Amosun has suspended all officials of the executive and legislative arms of Ijebu East Local Government Council for a period of 90 days.

This was announced on Monday in a press statement signed by the Secretary to the state government, Mr Taiwo Adeoluwa, which stated that the governor has “Approved the suspension of the Executive and Legislative arms of the Ijebu East Local Government Council for a period of 90 days in the first instance.”

According to the statement, the Head of the Local Government Administration (HOLGA) will administer the Council pending further directives and the outcome of the panel of inquiry into the affairs of the local government as ordered by the Governor.

The four man panel of inquiry which has Chief Wole Adesiji (Chairman), Mrs Ayoola Afolabi (member), Mr Bayo Adeyemi (member) and Barrister James Kolawole Omotosho of the Ministry of Justice as Secretary.

The committee is expected to submit its report within 14 days.

“The suspended Chairman, his deputy, all Councillors and political appointees have however been directed to stay away from the Council premises and affairs of Government during the period of suspension”, the statements added.

The governor is authorized to make such suspension due to “his powers under Sections 39 and 43 of the Ogun State Local Government Law.”