Oshiomhole Suspends Four Local Government Chairmen

Channels Television  
Updated October 6, 2015

OshiomholeGovernor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State has suspended four local government chairmen for non-payment of staff salaries, diversion of funds among others.

The four chairmen are Emmanuel Momoh, Etsako Central Local Government Area; Victor Enobakhare, Egor Local Government Area; Osaro Obazee, Oredo Local Government Area and Roland Ibierutomwen, Orhionmwon Local Government Area.

A letter to the Speaker of the Edo State House of Assembly, signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Prof Julius Ihonvbere, said that their suspension, which is for two months, is to pave the way for unhindered investigation into several allegations against the chairmen.

The allegations include non-payment of staff salaries without satisfactory explanations, inability to account for Internally Generated Revenue, diversion of funds, failure to follow due process in the award of contracts as well as illegal employment of senior officers without going through Local Government Service Commission, which is a violation of laid-down provisions.

The statement said that during the period of suspension, relevant panels would be constituted to investigate the allegations against the affected chairmen.