Channels Kids Cup Draw: Organisers Expect Stiffer Competition This Year

Channels Television  
Updated April 28, 2017

Kids cupThe draw for the 2017 Channels National Kids Cup Lagos preliminaries has been concluded with 32 schools drawn into four groups of eight teams.

The organisers of the tournament promised that the ninth edition of the competition would be competitive and entertaining.

Chairman of the Organising Committee, Mr Steve Judo, stressed the importance of unity among participating schools while on camp, saying the tournament is not a do-or-die affair.

“I have to emphasise again that this tournament is not a do-or-die affair; no, at all. If you have that notion, please remove it right away.

“It’s for you to come in here, camp with other children, have fun, get to know them and learn about them so that tomorrow when you all grow up, you’ll become friends. That is the essence of this tournament.

“I have to pass this on to the coaches too, please let the children have fun, especially when they camp together. That’s the idea of this tournament,” he said.

The Vice Chairman of the Lagos State Football Association, Mr Tade Azeez, also called for fair play among the schools and warn the coaches against the use of unqualified players.

“Those of you that employed those coaches should warn them, the coaches that tell you to bring unqualified players to play for you school. We will not only deal with the school this time, those coaches will equally be sanctioned,” he noted.

The tournament will be played on knockout basis with the last two teams qualifying for the national finals.

The matches will begin on May 2 at the Campos Square and Onikan stadiums in Lagos State, South-West Nigeria.

Group A – Has Bols International School, Badore Nursery and Primary School, Maryland Convent, Kith and Kin Educational, Green Haven, Troika, Community Primary School and Infant Jesus.

Group B – St Jude’s, Araromi, Revival, Kolebest, St Paul Anglican, Army Children, Xplanter and Abina Omololu.

Group C – Donmen, Gem Private School, CMS Primary School, Roshallom, Muslim Association, Lyncrest, Methodist Primary School and Rolex Children.

Group D – Noble Winners, National Primary School, Ajiran Community, Crown, Beautiful Path, Corona, Mao Children’s and Mas Mas.